No excuses

It’s almost the end of July and before we can blink it will be the end of the sailing season.

It’s a time that’s always a little bit sad for me, a bit like coming to the end of your lollypop when you’re a kid. But it’s also tinged with some wonderful memories of the summer just gone, and many are the stories of the deep that will be told among sailing friends as we toast each other and Neptune on terra firma over the Christmas period to come.

Having a boat is not just an idol whim as far as I’m concerned, nor either is it a status symbol as it is for many. Boat-owning and sailing is an affair of the heart, plain and simple. I deeply, passionately adore sailing – I don’t really know why, and I don’t have to know why. If I could only get afloat in a bathtub I’d be out there.

All I know is that as soon as I step on board a boat I feel immediately I’m in my element. I feel right at home, completely in my comfort zone. Maybe it’s because I’m a Piscean, which makes me a fish at heart.

Now I’ve said this many a time and I’ll say it again: Do what you love, love what you do. Get out there and do it, whatever it is that floats your boat. And don’t let me hear anyone say, “oooh your so lucky to have a boat…” As I’ve also said many times before, luck has very little to do with it. You choose what you want in your life and you do anything and everything to make it happen. If I’d have loved skiing I’d have spent my money on skis. If I’d loved mountaineering I’d have spent my money on climbing gear. As it is, I spent my hard earned dosh on learning to sail and buying a boat. That’s what money is for.

There are no excuses. Either you get out there and do what you love or you spend your one and only lifetime regretting that you didn’t. What a waste! I’m saying this because I want to share my joy. If you do what you love your life will be filled with awe, wonder and enjoyment and it’s available to everyone.

Leave a Reply

